Memorial Concert for the 80th Anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising

by Members of the Leipziger Universitätsorchester

Leszek Grzywaczewski, German personnel near the ghetto wall on Okopowa Street during the suppression of the Warsaw ghetto uprising, Warsaw 19 April–16 May 1943, Photograph Number: 80091, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Howard Kaplan.

Concert in the framework of the international conference »Looking at the Ghetto… The Warsaw Ghetto Uprising: Eighty Years in Retrospect«, 17–19 April 2023, Leipzig

with pieces of music by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Erwin Schulhoff, Marcel Tyberg, Paul Hindemith, Pavel Haas, and Ignatz Waghalter


Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Piano Quintet in E major, Op.15, 1. movement

Erwin Schulhoff
Ironien Op.34 for piano 4 hands, Nr. 1, 3, 6

Marcel Tyberg
Piano Trio in F major, 2. movement

Paul Hindemith
Sonata for Trumpet and Piano, 2. & 3. movements

Pavel Haas
Wind quintet, Op. 10

Ignatz Waghalter
String Quartet, D major, Op. 3, 1. & 2. Movements

18 April 2023, 8 p.m., Admission: 7.30 p.m.
Grassimuseum für Musikinstrumente der Universität Leipzig, Entrance Täubchenweg