Simon Dubnow Institute
for Jewish History and Culture at Leipzig University


Statues of the Leibniz Institute for Jewish History and Culture  Simon Dubnow (DI) from November 2, 1995, in the version of April 9, 2018.

(PDF-File in German)

Members of the Registered Association

Professor Yfaat Weiss (Director)


Professor Dan Diner (Honorary Member)


Friedbert Groß


Professor Thomas Lindenberger

(Director of the Hannah Arendt Institute, Dresden)


Christoph F. Meier
(Head of Department, Saxon State Ministry
for Higher Education, Research and the Fine Arts)


Dietmar Müller-Elmau


Professor Miloš Rezník
(Director the German Historical Institute Warsaw)


Dr. Rachel Salamander


Professor Beate A. Schücking
(Rector of the University of Leipzig)


Dr. h.c. Nikolaus Simon


Dr. Thomas Sparr


Dr. Christian D. Uhlhorn


Dr. Eva Wiese



Christoph F. Meier, Saxon State Ministry for Higher Education, Research and the Fine Arts (Chairperson)


Monika van Ooyen, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Deputy Chairperson)


Professor Beate A. Schücking, Rector of Leipzig University


Dr h.c. Nikolaus Simon, Chairman of the General Assembly


Dr. Susanne Wasum-Rainer, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany in Tel Aviv


Academic Advisory Council

Professor Marion Aptroot
(Department of Jewish Studies, Heinrich Heine University of Düsseldorf)


Professor Moritz Epple
(Department of History, Goethe University Frankfurt)


Professor Dieter Gosewinkel

(WZB Berlin Social Science Center)


Professor Atina Grossmann
(Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, The Cooper Union, New York City)


Prof. Dr. Johannes Paulmann

(Leibniz Institute of European History, Mainz)


Professor David Rechter

(Oriental Institute, St Antony's College, University of Oxford)


Professor Manfred Rudersdorf (Chairman)
(Department of History, University of Leipzig) (Chairman)


Professor Stefanie Schüler-Springorum
(Center for Research on Antisemitism, TU Berlin)


Dr. Marcos Silber

(Department of Jewish History, University of Haifa)


Professor Liliane Weissberg
(Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures, University of Pennsylvania, Pa.)